My favorite voices are female…

I want to start an all-girl revolution in mainstream media and social media that places emphasis on minority voices. What I mean, explicitly, by ‘all-girl revolution’ is a complete upheaval of the media, especially in news and social media, that switches the focus from cisgendered (meaning you identify as the gender whose sexual parts you were born with) white men to just about anyone and everyone else. When I seek out media, I look for Black voices, Hispanic voices, Queer voices, Transgender voices, Afro Latina voices, and Female voices, to name a few. This can be hard sometimes, because white men are overrepresented in our media. According to the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, only 23% of films feature female main-characters, and more than 70% of filmmakers are male.

This blog post is the beginning of my own, personal all-girl revolution. Each entry I make into the Feminist Latte blog will serve to inspire others and myself with the rad power of females, by highlighting female excellence in current media. If you are reading this, I hope my suggestions will help you expand your horizons to include females and minority groups in your media viewing. I believe that representation of all kinds of people in media is a good thing, because when we see ourselves represented in the media we feel like we belong. In addition, I would like this blog to explore different issues relating to representation and discrimination within and outside of the feminist movement, with examples highlighted in media.

I know I am not alone in feeling this kind of media bias, because during this most recent awards season, #OscarsSoWhite went viral. Personally, I haven’t seen any of the movies that were nominated for Oscars because they don’t represent the kind of media I enjoy. For your viewing pleasure, here is a list of alternative films to watch if you’re searching for more female representation in your media:

Suffragette; a historical movie about the founders of the Suffragette movement in England, and the risks they had to undertake to fight for their cause. Directed by Sarah Govron, and starring Carey Mulligan and Meryl Streep.

Girlhood; a French film about an all black girl gang in the projects of Paris, who empower each other to follow their dreams.

The Babadook; a creepy horror movie about one mother who must fight off a horrifying creature, the Babadook, that threatens her only son.

The Mustang aka the only Oscar-nominated film with a female director (Denize Gamze Erguven.) A politically charged story about a group of girls in Turkey fighting against the patriarchy.

Leave a Reply

